Photo-Shoot : Bridge Underside (Black and White)

Recently during my lunch break at work I decided to go for a short walk as the weather was nice. I work in Nottingham in the UK and my office is next to a Canal. Whilst walking down the Canal I went under some bridges. As I looked up I was struck by the depth of detail on the underside of the bridges.

Underside of a bridge on the Nottingham Canal

Underside of a bridge on the Nottingham Canal (Panasonic Lumix GF5 F9.0 1/5sec ISO 200 shot at 14mm)

Straight from the point of shooting I though that these images would look great when converted to monochrome. Post processing was done in Adobe Lightroom 5 where I edited for color first by adjusting the exposure, vibrancy, contrast and then converted to monochrome. I am starting to really like the look of monochrome. It is something that I would have overlooked many years ago, but now I find it to be a great format to work with.

Pipes on the underside of a bridge on the Nottingham Canal (Panasonic Lumix GF5 F9.0 1/5sec ISO 200 shot at 14mm)

Pipes on the underside of a bridge on the Nottingham Canal (Panasonic Lumix GF5 F4.8 1/60sec ISO 640 shot at 23mm)

I have added the complete set from this shoot to Flickr for you to browse.

This entry was posted in Photoshoot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photo-Shoot : Bridge Underside (Black and White)

  1. Pingback: Photo-Shoot : Nottingham Canal | Stephen Haunts Photography

Leave a Reply

